Economic History Society of Australia and New Zealand AGM 2019


20 June 2019

Editors Notes

The Editorial team is changing! From February 2019 Kris Inwood becomes Co-Editor-in-Chief, Florian Ploekl becomes production editor, and Hamish Maxwell-Stewart and Sumner LaCroix become associate editors. Also from February 2019, Edwyna Harris is stepping down as editor-in-chief. John Tang is stepping down as associate editor. On behalf of the AEHR team and the EHSANZ, we thank Edwyna and John for their service, we welcome Hamish and Sumner to the editorial team, and we congratulate Kris and Florian on their new roles.

There have also be several changes to the Editorial Board. David Merrett and Myung Su Cha stepped down from the Editorial Board in 2018. We thank them both for their long-term service. Debin Ma and Monica Keneley joined the Editorial Board in 2018. Edwyna Harris will join the Editorial Board in 2019.

Social media accounts for the journal were started in August 2018.  We have both a Facebook page ( and Twitter (@EcoHistAU).  Both of these sites were announced in the October 2018 CEH newsletter.  Dr. Claire Wright has been appointed as our Director of Social Media.

We would like to thank our reviewers of manuscripts during 2018: Roser Alvarez-Klee, Kai Yiu Chan, Sumner La Croix, Steven Toms, Bernard Attard, Malcolm Abbott, Robert Fitzgerald, Anand Shrivastava, Latika Chaudhary, Lionel Frost, Yasuhiro Makimura, Masaki Nakabayashi, Uwe Spiekermann, Monica Keneley, Peter Lloyd, Charles Fahey, David Merrett, Matthew Bailey, Debin Ma, Yi Xu, Liu Cong, Tim Hatton, Michael Beggs, John Singleton, Baomin Dong, Qin Jiang, Melissa Thomasson, and Martin Shanahan. We recognize that peer review is an absolutely essential part of running a journal and also that it is unpaid and receives little recognition.

The journal impact factor over the last two years was: 2016, 0.48 and 2017, 0.37.  These numbers are roughly in line with other regional economic history journals.

Finally, we are very pleased to report the results for three prizes.

The 2018 Coghlan Prize for best article published in the AEHR in the preceding year was awarded to Liuyan Zhao and Yan Zhao for their paper, ‘Alfred Marshall, Silver, and China’. The article is available at the AEHR website. The other articles nominated as finalists were Geoffrey Jones and Rachael Comunale, ‘Business, Governments and Political Risk in South Asia and Latin America Since 1970’; Nan Li, ‘The Long‐Term Consequences of Cultural Distance on Migration: Historical Evidence from China’; and Peter Gibson, ‘Australia’s Bankrupt Chinese Furniture Manufacturers, 1880–1930’.

Refereeing prizes were awarded to the following people for their outstanding contribution to the review process in 2018: Roser Alvarez-Klee, Ki Yiu Chan, Monica Keneley, David Merrett, and Baomin Dong.

Jonathan Pincus was awarded the 2018 E.O.G. Shann Award for Distinguished Service to Economic History in Australia and New Zealand. Jonathan Pincus earned his PhD in Economics from Stanford University, winning the Nevins prize in American economic history. He has held academic positions at Monash, Simon Fraser, Stanford, ANU, Flinders (as head of the Economic History Discipline), and Adelaide—where he was head of the Economics Department. He has also worked as Principal Adviser Research at the Productivity Commission. Pincus was on the editorial board of EEH, 1978-1986; for the AEHR, he served on the Editorial Committee in 1977-82 and 1986-88 and, as co-editor from 1988-95, negotiated the first Blackwell contract. He was on the organizing committee of the first world Cliometrics congress in 1985, and co-organizer of the Australian Economic History Association Conference in 1986. His PhD students include Martin Shanahan and David Pope, as well as several others not in economic history. His book “Government and capitalism: public and private choice in twentieth century Australia” (with Noel Butlin and Alan Barnard) is the second most cited scholarly work in Australian Economic History written since the Second World War. Over the last five years, he has published five chapters or articles in Australian economic history.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s